Botany 2006 - The Centennial CelebrationBotanical Society of America: Botanical Conference Information
 
Symposia

For the Detailed Schedule of Symposia - Click Here

  • A Century Of Wood Anatomy and 75 Years Of IAWA
    Organizers: Regis B. Miller, USDA Forest Service, E-mail: rmiller1@wisc.edu; and Steven Jansen, Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew, E-mail: s.jansen@kew.org
    Sponsors: BSA Paleobotanical and Developmental & Structural Sections

  • Botanical Cyberinfrastructure: Issues, Challenges, Opportunities, And Initiatives
    Organizers: Alan Prather, Michigan State University, E-mail: alan@msu.edu and Nico Cellinese, Yale University, E-mail: nico.cellinese@yale.edu
    Sponsors: BSA Systematics Section

  • Bringing Together The Living And Dead: Integrating Extant And Fossil Biodiversity In Evolutionary Studies
    Organizers: Dr. Nathalie Nagalingum, Duke University, E-mail: n.nagalingum@duke.edu; and Dr. Hervé Sauquet, Naturhistoriska riksmuseet, E-mail: herve.sauquet@nrm.se
    Sponsors: BSA Developmental & Structural, Paleobotanical, Tropical Biology and Systematics Sections

  • Ecological Responses of Bryophytes to Changing Climate
    Organizers: Prof. Zoltán Tuba, Szent István University; E-mail: Tuba.Zoltan@mkk.szie.hu; and Dr. Nancy G. Slack, The Sage Colleges, E-mail: slacknan@aol.com
    Sponsors: ABLS and BSA Brycological & Lichenological Section

  • Evolution, Ecology And Floristics In Northern California-Current Knowledge and Unexplored Realms
    Organizers: Kristina A. Schierenbeck, California State University, Chico, E-mail: kschierenbeck@csuchico.edu
    Sponsors: BSA Systematics Section

  • Flora Of North America: Synergy With Other Botanical Projects
    Organizers: Nancy R. Morin, Flora of North America, E-mail: nancy.morin@nau.edu
    Sponsors: BSA Systematics Section

  • Human Transformation Of California: Botany, History, and Sociology
    Organizers: Stanley Rice, Southeastern Oklahoma State
    Sponsors: BSA Ecological and Teaching Sections

  • Hybridization As A Stimulus For The Evolution Of Invasiveness In Plants
    Organizers: Debra Ayres, University of California, Davis, E-mail: drayres@ucdavis.edu and Kristina A. Schierenbeck, California State University, Email: kschierenbeck@csuchico.edu
    Sponsors: BSA Genetics Section

  • Land Plant Evolution: Phylogenetics and Beyond
    Organizers: Brent D. Mishler, University Of California, Berkeley, E-mail: bmishler@calmail.berkeley.edu and Khidir W. Hilu, Virginia Tech Blacksburg, E-mail: hilukw@vt.edu
    Sponsors: AFS, BSA Brycological & Lichenological, Paleobotanical, Phycological, Pteridological, Systematics Sections

  • Lichens as Bioindicators of Air Quality
    Organizers: Dr. Thomas H. Nash, Arizona State University, Tempe, E-mail: tom.nash@asu.edu
    Sponsors: BSA Brycological & Lichenological Section

  • New Advances in Fern Ecology
    Organizers: Dr. Klaus Mehltreter, Instituto de Ecología, Email: klaus@ecologia.edu.mx and Dr. W. Carl Taylor, Old Dominion University, E-mail: wtaylor@odu.edu
    Sponsors: AFS and BSA Pteridological Section

  • New Insights Into the Biogeography of Australian Plants
    Organizers: Barbara Whitlock, University of Miami, E-mail: whitlock@bio.miami.edu and Austin Mast, Florida State University, E-mail: amast@bio.fsu.edu
    Sponsors: ASPT and BSA Systematics Section

  • Paleobotany in the Post-Genomics Era
    Organizers: William Crepet, Cornell University, E-mail: wlc1@cornell.edu
    Sponsors: BSA Paleobotanical Section

  • Teaching Nonmajor Students About Plants
    Organizers: William A. Jensen, The Ohio State University
    Sponsors: BSA Teaching Section

  • The Comparative - Phylogenetic Method Of Reconstructing Evolutionary History
    Organizers: William (Ned) Friedman, University of Colorado, E-mail: ned@colorado.edu
    Sponsors: BSA Systematics Section

  • The Evolution Of Ericales: Recent Insights Using Both Morphology And Molecules
    Organizers: Dr. Erik Smets, E-mail: smets@bio.kuleuven.be and Dr. Frederic Lens, E-mail: frederic.lens@bio.kuleuven.be; Leiden University Branch, Leiden, The Netherlands
    Sponsors: ASPT, BSA Developmental & Structural and Systematics Sections

Questions About Botany Meetings should be directed to: BSA Meetings Manager:
Johanne Stogran
Botanical Society of America Meetings Office
2813 Blossom Ave
Columbus, OH 43231
Tele: (614) 899-9356 - Fax: (614) 895-7866 - E-mail: johanne@botany.org
Constantly Updated! 2006. Copyright 2003 Document is XHTML 1.0 Transitional.
This site is best viewed using Mozilla Firefox.